Shakespeare Association of America

A Masque in Honor of Lena Cowen Orlin

At the Luncheon of the Forty-Sixth Annual Meeting of the Shakespeare Association of America, held on the outdoor Plaza and Pool Deck of the Westin Bonaventure Hotel in Los Angeles on 30 April 2018, conspiring SAA members staged a flash mob performance of a “previously unknown masque by Shakespeare” to honor Lena Cowen Orlin, who was stepping down from the SAA’s Executive Directorship after twenty-two years of dedicated and excellent service. Based on a conception by Peter Holland, the script entitled “A Masque of Gratitude” was co-written by Tom Bishop, William C. Carroll, Diana E. Henderson, Peter Holland, Heather James, and Bruce R. Smith, in collaboration with William Shakespeare. The masks and props were created by Gordon Davis. Additional cast and crew members include Katie Brokaw, Carla Della Gatta, Wendy Beth Hyman, Bi-qi Beatrice Lei, Jeffrey Masten, Shankar Raman, Amy Rodgers, Scott A. Trudell, and Deanne Williams.